Geography of Rebels Trilogy


By Maria Gabriela Llansol
Translated from the Portuguese by Audrey Young

English debut with three linked novellas by influential cult Portuguese writer interweaving history, poetry, and philosophy into transcendent literary vision.

Publication Date: September 25, 2018

Paperback: 9781941920633
Ebook: 9781941920640

SKU: N/A Category:


The Geography of Rebels Trilogy, containing The Book of Communities, The Remaining Life, and In the House of July & August, is Maria Gabriela Llansol’s debut work to appear in English, containing her own earliest novels, written between 1974-1979, an interlinked trilogy of works originally published separately, but published in English together to give readers the chance to witness the breathtaking scope of her work as it was laid out from the very beginnings of her sterling literary career.

“If anyone might be profitably compared to Clarice Lispector, it might well be Maria Gabriela Llansol. This is because of the fundamentally mystical impulse that animates them both, their conception of writing as a sacred act, a prayer: their idea that it was through writing that a person can reach ‘the core of being.’” — Benjamin Moser, author of Why This World: A Biography of Clarice Lispector

“Llansol’s text . . . creates spaces where conjecture and counterfactual accounts operate freely granting a glimpse of an alternative reality.” — Claire Williams, The Guardian

Geography of Rebels presents the English debut of three linked novellas from influential Portuguese writer Maria Gabriela Llansol. With echoes of Clarice Lispector, Llansol’s novellas evoke her vision of writing as life, conjuring historical figures and weaving together history, poetry, and philosophy in a transcendent journey through one of Portugal’s greatest creative minds.

Additional information


Paperback, eBook